Long before the Spaniards came to the Province of Zamboanga del Sur, Liargao was the original name of the area which is now the Municipality of Ramon Magsaysay. The Subanen’s, are the natives of the area named the place “LIGAW” meaning “lost in the way” due to the unusual direction of the river. The river seems to be going up to the Mountain instead of going down to the sea.

The Subanen continued to occupy the area until sometime during the later part of 1940 when group of Christian Farmers came and settled in the barrio of Liargao which was then still a part of the Municipality of Aurora. These farmers organized themselves and founded the Dipolo Farmers Association with Mr. Olympio Rada as the President.

Migration was made possible due to the road opening from Campo IV to Liargao which was the only passable road by motor vehicles. Through this initial development, the pioneer settlers and some political leaders headed by Mr. Santiago Sumicad and Mr. Valentin Peralta tried hard to work for the creation of Liargao into a municipality but were unsuccessful in their efforts.

In December 28, 1956, with the representation of Congressman Roseller T. Lim, Governor Bienvenido Ebarle and some prominent local political leaders, then President Ramon Magsaysay signed Executive Order No. 222 creating Liargao into a regular corporate municipality. Then on February 13, 1957, President Ramon Magsaysay again issued Executive Order No. 239 also creating the municipality of Liargao superseding Executive order no. 222.The barrios within the judicial boundaries of the newly created municipality were Campo IV, Campo V, Campo VI, Pasingkalan, Bambong Daku, Malating, Wakat, Lower Sambulawan, Sinaguing, Gapasan, Buloron, Bacahan, Midsalip, Timbaboy, Canipay, Laperian, Katipunan, Bobongan, Bambong Diut, Sominot and Sapa Anding.

The first appointed Municipal Officials headed by the appointed Municipal Mayor Hon. Alfonso M. Donaire, Sr. were inducted into office by Governor Bienvenido Ebarle on April 21, 1957.

Through the able leadership of Mayor Alfonso M. Donaire, Sr. and of course the assistance of Congressman Canuto Enerio, a road was constructed from barrio Switch (formerly Campo VI) to Liargao and was opened to traffic on January 1960.

On the same year after the untimely death of President Ramon Magsaysay, the House of Congress enacted Republic Act No. 2788, changing the name of the municipality of Liargao to RAMON MAGSAYSAY in honor of the late President.

Mayor Alfonso M. Donaire Sr. occupied the position as Local Chief Executive of the Town until his retirement in May 1986.

Upon the retirement of Mayor Alfonso M. Donaire Sr., Dr. Jovito C. Apepe Sr. was appointed as Officer In-Charge by Hon. Aquilino Pimentel, then Secretary of the Interior and Local Government. During the 1988 local election, another Officer In-charge in the person of Mr. Waldertrud L. Lubguban, a DILG field officer stationed in the municipality was appointed. He assumed office in December 1987 by virtue of Memorandum Circular. He served as Chief Executive Officer for a period of two (2) months.

Through the popular mandate of the people, Mr. Pergentino O. Arcite was elected Municipal Mayor. He took his oath of office together with the other municipal officials of February 2, 1988 before Judge Delfin E. Agbu, Municipal Trial Court Judge.

Hon. Pergentino E. Arcite was re-elected Municipal Mayor in May 1992. He faithfully served the municipality until his demise on February 2, 1994. Immediately after February 4, 1994, Hon. Jesus C. Pesalbon, the Municipal Vice Mayor assumed as the Chief Executive.

During the May 1995 local election, Hon. Gaspar O. Arcite was elected into office and served the municipality for three (3) consecutive terms. He is very much concerned in upgrading the delivery of basic services especially the poor farmers in the municipality.

His major achievement is the construction of a new Municipal Hall which was completed two months before his term as Chief Executive ended.

From 2004 to 2013, the municipal government is administered by Hon. Pacifico B. Bulahan, Jr. He was the planning officer of the LGU for about twenty three (23) years before being elected as Local Chief Executive in the 2004 local election. Through his leadership, various projects were implemented with deep socio-economic impact, such a the Construction of Integrated Bus and Jeepney Terminal, Public Market, Construction and Upgrading of 7.85km Farm to Market Road from Poblacion to Malating under InfREs program, Establishment of Ramon Magsaysay National High, Corn Post Harvest Facility and Trading Center and Municipal Gymnasium.

Thru popular mandate, Hon. Leonilo D. Borinaga, Sr. was elected as Municipal Mayor during the 2013 local and national election and became the 8th Local Chief Executive. He was the former Municipal Health Officer serving the municipality from 1988 to 2001, elected as Municipal Vice mayor from 2001 to 2010 and as Sangguniang Bayan member from 2001-2013.

His Road Map of Development of Ramon Magsaysay (RM for RM) focuses on eleven (11) priority areas;

  1. Economic Development and Poverty Reduction
  2. Development Tourist Destination Areas
  3. Environmental Protection, Establishment of Responsive Health Care & Management System
  4. Support to Education
  5. Shelter Program
  6. Sports & Talent Development
  7. Peace & Security
  8. Infrastructure Program 9. Disaster Preparedness and 10. Revenue Generation

The establishment of Caniangan Agro-Industrial Eco-Tourism Hub is one of the ambitious poverty reduction programs of the present administration. The development of the 25 hectares area of land owned by the municipal government into an Agro-Industrial Zone wherein establishment of processing facility such as Mini Coco Oil Mill, Feeds Processing Facility & Organic Processing Facility are just among the intervention to be put aimed to increase economic activity & opportunity to the barangay down to the household level.

Ramon Magsaysay has twenty seven (27) barangays namely; Bag-ong Opon, Bambong Daku, Bambong Diut, Bobongan, Campo IV, Campo V, Caniangan, Dipalusan, Eastern Bobongan, Esperanza, Gapasan, Katipunan, Lower Sambulawan, Mabini, Magsaysay, Malating, Paradise, Pasingkalan, Poblacion, Santo Rosario, San Fernando, Sapa Anding, Sinaguing, Switch, Upper Laperian, Wakat.